After setting up the organization, the next thing you need to do is add users. You can add users in two ways.

Adding New Users

Adding New Users Individually

1. Adding Users Individually

  • To manage Users, click on the Users tab.

  • You can add new users in 4 ways. They can be added through ‘+Invite’, ‘+Quick Add’, ‘+Add New User’ and ‘Import Users’. The last way is in a separate tab by itself since it deals with adding users in bulk.

  • To add new users individually, click on ‘+Add New User’. In the form that opens up, fill in details like first name, last name, date of birth, email, designation etc.

  • Once you are done, click on ‘Save’

  • The user will be added to the user directory.

2. Adding Users through Bulk Import

  • Firstly, create an Excel or CSV file with the details of the users that you want to add to the user directory.
  • Utilize this format: First Name, Last Name, Email ID).
  • Go to ‘Settings’ and select ‘User Management’.
  • Click on the ‘Bulk Import’ tab.
  • Select ‘Upload from computer’ and select the file that you want to import users from.
  • Click on ‘Upload’
  • If you have already specified the headers in your file, then click on ‘Import’
  • If not, check the box against ‘Check if no header is specified’ and map the headings to the relevant columns.
  • Then click on ‘Import’.

Once you add the users to the directory, the user id and password for each user will be auto-generated and sent to their email id.

Tip: You can now also update existing user details now, when carrying out a bulk import of users. When adding new users, just check the box that says ‘Update Existing Users’.

Users Actions

Once you’ve added the users to the directory, there are various user actions that you can perform as a site administrator.

 

Go to ‘Settings’ and select ‘Users’. In the ‘Users’ tab, you can see a list of all the users in your organization.

User Actions

Edit – The Edit action is denoted by the pencil symbol. By clicking on Edit, you can edit the details of an existing user. After you click on Edit, the Edit User form opens up, where you can make the changes that you want and then click on Save.

 

Upload Documents – Next to the Edit icon is the Upload Documents icon. The administrator can use this action to upload documents relevant to the user alone from here.

 

Other Actions – The other actions that a site administrator can perform have been consolidated into a dropdown menu which is denoted by a ‘v’ next to the Upload Documents icon. From here, a site administrator can perform the following actions:

 

  • Assign Permission – You can assign different permissions to users by clicking on this action. An ‘Assign Permission’ box opens up, where you can select the permissions you want a user to have. You can select multiple permissions at a time.
  • Block The User – What it says on the tin. You can block a user if they are no longer a part of your organization.
  • Mark As Site Administrator – You can mark a user as a site administrator by clicking on this action. Since this is a powerful user permission, use it cautiously.
  • Resend Login Credentials – If a user doesn’t receive the login credentials even after they have been added to the directory, you can resend the credentials to users by clicking on this action.
  • Documents – To see the documents you’ve already uploaded for a user, click on this action.

Once users have been blocked, you can still edit their details if you want to. However in order to change anything else, you need to activate the user once more.

Engagedly's User Management

Adding Reporting Managers

After you’re done importing users, it’s time to fill in all relevant user details. One of them is assigning reporting managers to users.

 

You can add reporting managers in two ways:

 

  • People Without A Manager
  • Edit User

People Without A Manager

 

On the left-hand menu, you will find the Settings icon. Click on the icon and you will be redirected to the Settings page. Here, click on People Without A Manager.

 

You will see a list of users who are without managers.

People Without A Manager

To assign a manager to a user, click on ‘Assign A Manager’. A light box will open up.

 

In the ‘Reporting to’ box, select the user they will report to and it will show up in the text field. Once you have done that, then click on ‘Assign’.

 

Once a user has a reporting manager, they will no longer be shown on the ‘People Without A Manager’ page.

 

FAQ: Can a user have more than one reporting manager?

Answer: Users cannot have more than one reporting manager.


Edit User

 

The other way of adding a reporting manager for a user is to go to the Users tab in the Settings page.

 

You will see a list of all the active users in an organization. Click on the Edit icon which is denoted by a pencil.


Adding New Users Individually

At the very end you can see the ‘Reporting to’ box. Search and select a user and click on enter. Once you are done, click on ‘Save’.

Permission Management

Assigning Permissions

 

When an organization is set up, the first user who signs up and gets all the others on board by default becomes the Site Administrator.

 

Other users will not have permissions until the Site Administrator gives them permissions.

PermissionManagement

Engagedly by default has 6 permissions that can be given. These permissions cannot be edited. They are:

 

  • Site Administrator
  • Referral Manager
  • Gamification Admin
  • HR Manager
  • Learning Manager
  • Multirater Review Manager

 

A site administrator is the most powerful person in an organization by virtue of having a number of permissions.

 

To see all the capabilities a Site Administrator has, click on the ‘v’ icon, which is a drop-down icon. You will see a screen that looks like this.

User cannot be made Site Administrators from here. In order for a user to be made a Site Administrator, you need to go to the Users tab. We’ve already addressed how to make users Site Administrators in the User Actions section.


FAQ: When users are marked as Site Administrators, or given permissions, do they receive a notification?

Answer: As of now, no, users do not receive a notification informing them of permissions given.

 

For other permissions, users can be given permissions from the permission management page itself.

 

To assign permissions for users, click on the ‘v’ icon on a permission slab. There, you will see three icons.

 

The only icons that we need to worry about are the ‘Assign To Users’ and the ‘Users’ icon.

To assign a permission to users, click on the ‘Assign To Users’ icon. A light box like the one shown below will open up. Type in the names of the users you want to assign that particular permission to, and then click on assign.

To see how many users have been assigned a permission, click on the ‘Users’ icon. A light box will open up, showing a list of users who have been assigned that permission. To remove a user form a permission list, simply click on the ‘Delete’ icon next to their name.

Adding New Permission

 

To add new permissions, click on the ‘+New Permission’ button on the right hand corner.

PermissionManagement

After clicking on ‘+New Permission’, you will see a page like the one shown below. There is a long list of capabilities that you assign to the new permission that you are creating. For example, a new permission called ‘Manage Groups’ is being created. Users who have this permission will be able to create groups, both Open and Close and manage users within the groups. The capabilities that have been checked for this permission are all group-related. After checking off the capabilities that you would like the permission to have, click on ‘Save’.

 

Now a whole new permission has been created. In this manner, you can create and customize as many permissions as you want. New permissions can also be deleted, unlike default permissions.

Creating New Permission

Updated for Engagedly Release No: 2.3.0, dated September 19  2016.